Google Plus was launched in 2011 in an attempt by Google to unify all of its services. However its functions and interface were not enough to attract users.
With aggressive competition from the giant Facebook or even Twitter, Google Plus fell into irrelevance in a short time. It seems the time has come to end it all.
After more than half a million users had their data compromised in a security scandal, Google announced in late 2018 that it would end its social network.
All content on the platform will be deleted from April 2nd.
According to Digitaltrends, Google said that after April 2, all content on the social network will be completely deleted. Firstly personal account content, as well as photos and videos that are archived in Google Plus.
However, Google points out that users can download a file containing all of their information. This elimination will surely take a few months. However, some content will remain visible to G Suite users.
Secondly, Google will remove the ability to create profiles, pages, or communities from early February. In addition you will see Google+ login buttons disappearing on various sites.
As a justification for ending the social network, Google used the biggest factor possible: downtime. The Mountain View company stated that user interaction was extremely low. About 90% of those who signed in to Google Plus stayed no longer than five seconds.
In short, none of this surprises us. With options like Facebook, Twitter or even Instagram, Google Plus has never been an attractive social network. All these years supporting a nearly inactive site has been a waste of resources. Hopefully, Google will now use these same features to improve its existing services.
EBox editors recommend:
Youtubers fall victim to copyright extortion
Samsung folding smartphone hits the spot in new announcement!
Folding smartphone: Is this the design presented by Huawei?