Timeline of a death on Facebook
Have you died
The idea proposed by Facebook is quite reasonable. The day you go to the other world, your personal account of the social network will continue to be active, and it will be very strange that people receive notifications of your birthday (or worse, that people congratulate you effusively) when you went to the other neighborhood for quite some time.
For that reason they have created legacy contacts, which is nothing more than a function that will allow someone else to take control of your account and manage the notifications and news that have occurred since your death. But you will have to decide for yourself.
How to establish a legacy contact
Do you want to leave the final decision in a trusted person? That is your legacy contact. The legacy contact will be the person who decides what to do with your account the moment you die. This person cannot access your profile, or post for you, or access your private messages, since their only function is to choose one of the two options that will be available: delete your account or make it commemorative.
To choose a legacy contact you will have to do the following:
- Enter Facebook and access the Configuration options
- In the General section, Look for the Memorial Account Settings option
- There you can decide who will be your legacy contact
Its functions will be the following:
- Manage tribute posts on your profile, including removing posts and tags and deciding who can post and view posts
- Request the deletion of your account
- Respond to new friend requests
- Update your profile and cover photos
Commemorative account or delete profile?
The decision to choose one option or another should not always rest with the legacy contact. You yourself can previously request that your account be deleted when you die (Facebook will find out from friends and family as we will see later), but in the event that you do not choose this option, your account will automatically become commemorative when it is reported. of your death, and that will be when your legacy contact has to manage your profile with the functions mentioned above.
To configure that your profile is automatically deleted as soon as Facebook knows that you are deceased, select the last option that appears in the Memorial Account configuration panel.
What is a memorial account for?
The idea of the memorial bead is to create a place where friends and family can share memories around you. To differentiate a normal account from a commemorative one, the user name of the profile will be accompanied by the name “In memory”, thus indicating that that person has passed away and that said account is maintained as a place of reunion between friends and family. In this profile, previous publications can be seen, and depending on the level of privacy established, friends will be able to publish on the board publications shared with the deceased. All these points must be taken into account when understanding a commemorative account:
- All the content that person has shared (such as photos or posts) will remain on Facebook and will be visible on the platform for the selected audience with which it was originally shared.
- Memorial profiles will not appear in “People You May Know” suggestions, birthday reminders, or in announcements.
- No one can log into a memorial account.
- Commemorative accounts that do not have a legacy contact cannot be changed.
- Pages with a single administrator whose account has been converted to memorial will be removed from the social network if Facebook receives a valid memorial account request.
How to report the death of a family member or friend to Facebook
If the deceased did not configure his account with any of the steps described above, the decision to make the account commemorative or directly eliminate it may fall on family members and close friends. In that case, users who have some kind of relationship with the deceased should contact Facebook to give the instructions and the necessary information to act accordingly.
If you want to request the deleting an account you must take into account the following:
- To guarantee your relationship with the deceased, you must present some of these documents:
- Power of attorney
- Birth certificate
- Last will and testament
- Declaration of assets
- And to confirm your death, you will need one of these documents:
- Death certificate
- With all that, complete the following form.
If you want make the account commemorative you must take into account the following:
- In this case, all Facebook asks for is some kind of document that certifies the death of the person, so you must send some of these proofs:
- Death certificate
- Complete the following form.
What about disabled people?
In the event that you need to delete an account of an incapacitated person, you must follow the necessary steps to delete an account, indicating finally that you want to delete the account because the person is incapacitated for medical reasons. But some details will have to be taken into account:
- For a child under the age of 14: In theory, a child under 14 should not have a Facebook account, since the social network prevents the creation of new profiles for people under that age. Therefore, said account should not exist, and if it does exist, it should be reported.
- For someone over 14 years old: Complete the corresponding form and wait for Facebook to ask you for more information related to the case.
Those people who are in prison or in rehabilitation will not be considered disabled, so the deletion of the account cannot be requested at any time. Unless the person requesting it belongs to the forces of order, in which case they must contact you through this form.
*The article has been translated based on the content of https://eloutput.com/redes-sociales/facebook/borrar-cuenta-fallecido-muerte-incapacidad/ by eloutput.com
. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!
*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.
*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article. If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!